Main content of the website

2020 Council By-election

A municipal by-election will be held Monday, Oct. 19, 2020. Crossfield will have one polling station — Crossfield Community Centre (900 Mountain Ave.)  — open 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Two councillors will be elected for a one-year term.

Nominations closed at 12 noon Sept. 8. The Town would like to congratulate the five individuals who have put their names forward:

  • Kim Harris
  • Jo Lambert
  • Fred Wallace
  • Justin Gustafson
  • Mike Perry

If you would like to contact one of the candidates, please call the Town office at (403) 946-5565.

Withdrawal by two candidates

It has recently come to the Returning Officer and Substitute Returning Officer’s attention that two of the candidates would like to withdraw their names for the by-election.   

After confirmation with Alberta Municipal Affairs, the option to withdrawal has passed, as per section 35 of the Local Authorities Election Act:

Withdrawal of nomination

32(1) Subject to subsection (2), if more than the required number of candidates for any particular office are nominated, any person so nominated may, at any time within 24 hours after the close of the nomination period, withdraw as a candidate for the office for which the candidate was nominated by filing with the returning officer a withdrawal in writing.

As the withdrawal period has passed, Mike Perry and Frank Wallace’s names will still appear on the ballot.

It is the responsibility of the candidates to advise the electors of their wish to withdrawal.  

Candidates Forum

A Candidates Forum was held Sept. 22 and livestreamed online. A recording of that livestream is below:

Voter Eligibility and Identification

You are eligible to vote in the by-election if:

  • you are at least 18 years old;
  • you are a Canadian citizen; and
  • you live in Alberta, and your place of residence is within the Town of Crossfield on election day.

The voter must produce identification for inspection. The identification must include one or more pieces of identification as authorized by the Returning Officer, which establishes the elector’s name and current address, as required by section 53 of the Local Authorities Election act or local bylaw.

Municipal Election Bylaw 2020-07.

Important Dates

Advance Vote

Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2020
4 to 8 p.m.
Town of Crossfield Administration Office – 1005 Ross Street, Crossfield,

Election Day 

Monday, Oct. 19, 2020
Voting Station Hours: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Crossfield Community Centre - 900 Mountain Ave.

For further information on the by-election, please contact:

Lindsey Nash, Returning Officer
Merel Jarvis, Substitute Returning Officer
Town of Crossfield
1005 Ross Street, Box 500
(403) 946-5565

Other Resources

For more information about elections in Alberta, check out the Municipal Affairs Election website.